•  

MOL Comfort aft section sank on June 27

June 27, 2013 at 13:51 by Mikhail Voytenko in Accidents

TOKYO- Mitsui O.S.K. Lines reports the aft part of the containership MOL Comfort sank in the open sea near 14 26N 066 26E (water depth about 4,000m) at 16:48 JST (11:48 Dubai time) on June 27. About 1,700 containers aboard the aft part sank with this section of the vessel. Some are confirmed floating near the site. About 1,500 metric tons of fuel oil was estimated to be aboard in the tanks of the aft part. No large volume of oil leakage is confirmed at this moment.

As of 23:00 JST (18:00 Dubai time) on June 26, 2013, the fore section was in position 15 52N 068 53E.

Maritime Bulletin:

The fore section is or supposed to be, under tow, latest AIS of the tugs working on fore section show course almost due north, speed some 1.5 knots – probably tugs are just keeping fore section at a most safe angle towards sea and wind.

molcomfort13n.jpg

Read disaster chronicles and follow updates at http://www.odin.tc/2013/molcomfort.htm

  MOL Comfort aft section sank on June 27

Instant Search

Please enter three more characters.

Vessels See all 0 vessels

  Name   IMO MMSI Callsign Length Location  
No vessels found

Ports 0 found

  Name Vessels moored Country LOCODE Size
No ports found